Hollywood awards season carries on with the 2018 SAG Awards on Sunday, Jan. 21. The show, known for recognizing actors for their work in TV and film, is presented by the Screen Actors Guild and airs at 8 p.m. on both TBS and TNT. Unlike other awards shows, the SAG Awards, held annually since 1995, honor whole casts and ensembles for their performances. Nominations span 13 categories for actors and two for stunt performers.

SAG Award winner and Oscar winner Morgan Freeman will receive the SAG Life Achievement Award.

The first-ever host of the 24th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be actress Kristen Bell (“The Good Place”). This year, the show will feature a mostly female lineup of presenters, which was a decision made in the wake of the 2017 Women’s March, but now functions as a celebration of women after the Hollywood reckoning that sparked the #MeToo and #TimesUp movements.

Among the nominees this year are Aziz Ansari and James Franco, actors who have recently faced allegations of sexual coercion or misconduct. Ansari, who has been at the center of a debate about sexual consent over the past week after a 23-year-old photographer claimed in a story for the website Babe.net that Ansari had pressured her to have sex, is nominated for best actor in a comedy series for his Netflix series “Master of None.” Franco, who has been accused of sexual misconduct by several women, is nominated for best actor for the film “The Disaster Artist,” which he also directed.

(Excerpt) Read More @ nj.com

SAG Awards 2018: Complete List of Nominees

| Showbiz News |