CBS to Broadcast Inaugural “Byron Allen Presents THEGRIO AWARDS,”

African American-focused news, lifestyle, sports and entertainment platform theGrio  recently celebrated icons, leaders and legends at Byron Allen’s inaugural theGrio Awards, a black-tie event held at the Beverly Hilton. Co-hosted by The Talk’s Sheryl Underwood and Taye Diggs, Byron Allen Presents theGrio Awards will be broadcast Saturday, Nov. 26, at 8-10 p.m. ET/PT) on CBS and streaming on Paramount+.

Byron Allen Presents theGrio Awards celebrates excellence in film, music, comedy, television, sports, philanthropy, business, fashion, social justice, environmental justice, education, and the cultural icons and innovators whose many contributions positively impact America. The special pays tribute to and amplifies the history makers, change agents and artists who define and influence our world.

Honorees include Dave Chappelle (Cultural Icon Award), Ben Crump (Justice Icon Award), Allyson Felix (Sports Icon Award), Jennifer Hudson (Trailblazer Icon Award), Patti LaBelle (Music Icon Award), Queen Latifah (Television Icon Award), Norman Lear (Champion Award), Alena Analeigh McQuarter (Young Icon Award), Don Peebles (Business Icon Award), Tyler Perry (Icon Award), Robert F. Smith (Philanthropy Award) and Kenan Thompson (Comedy Icon Award). Also, the special features musical performances by Yolanda Adams, Tyrese, Fantasia and Patti LaBelle. Greg Phillinganes serves as musical director, and DJ Kiss acts as both D.J. and announcer for the awards special.

(Excerpt) Read more @ TVNewscheck

CBS to Broadcast Inaugural “Byron Allen Presents THEGRIO AWARDS,”

| Featured, Showbiz News, TV |